Greg Lemond Artwork 1990

FURTHER to my previous post, my brother Mick’s bedroom clearout unearthed a series of drawings that he did during Greg Lemond‘s 3rd Tour de France victory in 1990.

Back in the early 90s, we would obsessively watch the grainy footage from Le Tour each summer on Channel 4, rushing out to replicate the feats of riders like Lemond on our bikes in enthusiastic duals around our suburban cul-de-sac.

I would don a ultra-cool Nike cycling top that Dad had brought back from a business trip in the US, finishing my look with a pair of wraparound mirrored shades that I received after saving up the necessary tokens from packets of Shreddies.

Lemond’s heroics would then be immortalised by Mick in great detail, using just paper and felt-tip pens.

I love the childlike quality of these images and the memories that they invoke, of a time when the likes of Lemond inspired us to ride our bikes. Thanks Greg.

Leave a comment